Instagram introduces ‘archive’ feature, allowing users to hide photos
Instagram has released a new Archive feature to all users, following a successful round of testing last month.
The fresh feature will provide users new-found flexibility with their posts, allowing them to hide or “archive” photos that they don’t want on public display.
While the archived photos won’t be removed from the platform and will retain all likes and comments, only the authorized user will be able to access them, with the option to restore archived photos back to the user’s public profile if and when desired.
The official Instagram blog laid out simple steps on how to use the new feature:
“To archive a post you’ve already shared, tap ‘…’ at the top of the post and choose ‘Archive.’ You’ll still be able to see it when you tap the Archive icon in the top right corner of your profile. That way, you can always return to these posts and see previous likes and comments from friends. If you change your mind about a post you’ve archived, tap ‘Show on Profile’ at any time and it’ll show up in its original spot.”
As Engadget reports, Instagram is hoping that this feature will change the way its users interact with the service, encouraging Instagrammers to archive rather than delete their pictures, so that they remain in Instagram for possible restoration at a later date. JB