Close  

Ubisoft ties July 12 UbiForward showcase to ‘Watch Dogs 2’ giveaway

/ 06:40 PM July 09, 2020
Watch Dogs, Ubisoft

“Watch Dogs 2” contains a compressed vision of San Francisco and several four-person multiplayer modes. Image: Courtesy of Ubisoft via AFP Relaxnews

French-headquartered publisher and developer Ubisoft will be presenting new looks at fantasy-historical Viking action game “Assassin’s Creed Valhalla”, near-future London resistance scenario “Watch Dogs: Legion” and battle royale contender “Hyper Scape” at its Ubisoft Forward showcase on July 12.

Starting at 8:30 p.m. CEST (6:30 p.m. UTC), the entire pre-show, main show and post-show event lasts for approximately an hour and a half, and for most of that Ubisoft is inviting PC gamers to log in with their Uplay account to claim a free copy of “Watch Dogs 2”.

ADVERTISEMENT

The offer goes live during the pre-show, after a demonstration of racing game “Trackmania”, and finishes at the end of the main show. A post-show segment is scheduled to begin 1 hour and 15 minutes after the pre-show gets underway.

The entire thing will be broadcast through ubisoft.com/Forward, youtube.com/ubisoftna, twitch.tv/ubisoft and, despite the closure of Microsoft’s streaming service on July 22, mixer.com/ubisoft.

FEATURED STORIES

Segment start times equate to 11:30 a.m. (pre-show), 12 noon (main show) and 12:45 p.m. PDT (post-show); 2:30 p.m., 3 p.m., and 3:45 p.m. EDT; 3:30 p.m., 4 p.m., and 4:45 p.m. in Brazil; 7:30 p.m., 8 p.m., and 8:45 p.m. United Kingdom; 8:30 p.m., 9 p.m., and 9:45 p.m. CEST and South Africa; then midnight on July 13, 12:30 a.m., and 1:15 a.m. in India; 2:30 a.m., 3 a.m. and 3:45 a.m. in Singapore, Malaysia, the Philippines and Beijing, China; 3:30 a.m., 4 a.m., and 4:45 a.m. in South Korea and Japan; 4:30 a.m., 5 a.m., and 5:45 a.m. in Sydney, Australia.

“Watch Dogs 2”, a 2016 open-world action game, was received as a more optimistic take on the “Grand Theft Auto V” model.

It is being followed up by “Watch Dogs: Legion”, currently expected to release by the end of March 2021 on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X, PC and Google Stadia.

A high-profile giveaway of such limited duration is unusual.

The Epic Game Store, for example, is operated by the company behind the enormous console, computer and mobile hit “Fortnite”, with EGS giveaways open for a week.

Nevertheless, EGS struggled when “Grand Theft Auto V” became the focus of attention for seven days in May.

“Hyper Scape”, announced last week, is to open its doors to all on July 12. The Battle Royale exists in the same genre space as “Fortnite” and has players leaping and bounding around Neo Arcadia, a sci-fi vision of Paris.

ADVERTISEMENT

As well as “Trackmania”, and the beginning of that “Watch Dogs 2” offer, the pre-show also contains content relating to “Ghost Recon Breakpoint”, “Just Dance 2020” and “The Division 2”, while the post-show will bring viewers further into “Assassin’s Creed Valhalla” and “Hyper Scape”.

Ubisoft has been caught up in a new wave of revelations about abusive and manipulative conditions within the video game and streaming industries.

It’s not known if or how Ubisoft might address these grave concerns during the broadcast. One vice president has resigned, another has been placed on administrative leave and a prominent game director has stepped down.

The company’s CEO has promised changes in procedure and the establishment of a comprehensive cross-party working group. RGA

RELATED STORIES: 

Ubisoft to include more K-pop songs in ‘Just Dance 2020’

Ubisoft Forward stakes out June date for online showcase

TOPICS: developer, livestream, Ubisoft, Watch Dogs, Watch Dogs 2
Read Next
EDITORS' PICK
MOST READ
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.


© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.