outbrain
Close  

Ubisoft Forward stakes out June date for online showcase

/ 07:08 PM May 14, 2020
Ubisoft

Ubisoft Forward is likely to bring a heavy focus to ‘Assassin’s Creed Valhalla,’ given its high profile, cross-platform plans. Image: Courtesy of Ubisoft via AFP Relaxnews

In the absence of the 2020 Electronic Entertainment Expo, a number of video game publishers are hosting their own online showcase events.

Among them will be Ubisoft, the French-headquartered publisher and worldwide studio network behind the “Assassin’s Creed”, “Tom Clancy’s” and “Just Dance” franchises.

ADVERTISEMENT

The company has a Ubisoft Forward event planned for Friday, June 12 starting at 12 p.m. PDT (3 p.m. EDT, 7 p.m. UTC, 8 p.m. UK, 9 p.m. CEST/SAST, then June 13 at 12:30 a.m. IST, 3 a.m. SG, PHT, MY, CST, 4 a.m. SK and JP, 5 a.m. AEST).

It didn’t specify any titles for the showcase, but has only recently revealed “Assassin’s Creed Valhalla”, a Viking-themed entry to its long-running action-adventure series; the game is being prepared for not only the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC and Google Stadia, but also, bearing its last-quarter debut in mind, late 2020’s new Xbox Series X and PlayStation 5 consoles.

FEATURED STORIES

Also on Ubisoft’s 2020 slate is “Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Quarantine”, a thematic continuation of “Rainbow Six Siege”‘s popular three-player alien invasion mode Outbreak.

Sticking with the same franchise, turn-based tactical mobile game “Tom Clancy’s Elite Squad” is already in a regional soft launch on Android, with an iOS version in development after having been announced at E3 2019.

Alongside them, Ubisoft has sci-fi sports game “Roller Champions” scheduled for a full release in the first half of this year — and, as we draw closer to June, quite possibly around the time that Ubisoft Forward takes place; joining it on PC in 2020 should be a new entry to town management franchise “The Settlers”.

Looking further ahead, myths and legends action-adventure “Gods and Monsters”, whose art style and scope has been favorably compared to Nintendo’s excellent “The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild”, and near-future vigilante jaunt “Watch Dogs: Legion” have been forecast for release before the end of March 2021.

And though it’s not clear how far along open seas combat jig “Skull & Bones” and long-awaited sci-fi fantasy “Beyond Good and Evil 2” might be, they could yet venture out for Ubisoft Forward. RGA

RELATED STORIES: 

WATCH: ‘The Last of Us Part II’ story trailer begins month countdown

ADVERTISEMENT

‘Apex Legends’: New thief Loba pursues robotic killer in sci-fi plot

TOPICS: Assassin's Creed, Electronic Entertainment Expo, Just Dance, technology showcase, Ubisoft
Read Next
EDITORS' PICK
MOST READ
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.


© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.