Close  
  • share this

What to expect from PlayStation at E3 2018

/ 08:57 PM June 11, 2018

A digitized Norman Reedus as Sam in “Death Stranding”. Image: Kojima Productions/Sony Interactive Entertainment via AFP Relaxnews

Sony’s PlayStation division has promised to focus on four big exclusives at E3 2018. Here are an armful of other games also likely to make the cut.

Setting the stage for his June 11 presentation, Sony Interactive Entertainment president Shawn Layden targeted four PlayStation 4 exclusives: “The Last of Us Part II”, “Marvel’s Spider-Man”, “Ghost of Tsushima” and “Death Stranding”.

ADVERTISEMENT

“The Last of Us Part II” comes from the same studio behind the “Uncharted” series and both series have a reputation for high-quality action, adventure, audio and visual presentation.

This time, however, orphan Ellie becomes the main character while an E3 2017 clip implied a darker storyline for the undated sequel.

FEATURED STORIES

September’s “Spider-Man” doesn’t directly tie in to the movies, its studio says, but instead takes place when the webbed wonder is at the height of his powers. Players can expect to swing, sling and flip their way around New York City, meeting familiar faces and chasing down another superpowered mystery man, Mister Negative.

“Ghost of Tsushima” is a bit more of an unknown quantity, having been revealed at Paris Games Week in November 2017, but promises a fully realized Samurai-era Japan. Will it be ready for release in 2018?

Finally, the foreboding sci-fi title “Death Stranding” is the first new title from ex-“Metal Gear Solid” director Hideo Kojima, so far, as cryptic and cinematic as Kojima’s reputation suggests, with actors Norman Reedus and Mads Mikkelsen embodying principal characters.

Outside of the focal quartet, expect to see more of “Dreams”, “Days Gone”, “Blood & Truth”, “Erica” and “Concrete Genie” all of which have featured at previous PlayStation presentations, as well as more on its “Medievil” remake and the recently announced “Tetris Effect”.

Similarly, indie games “Knights and Bikes” and “The Gardens Between” were announced as PS4 console exclusives, as were Square Enix’s “Final Fantasy VII Remake” and “Left Alive”; its acclaimed “Dragon Quest XI” is a PS4 home console exclusive until a Switch version arrives, though Square Enix might cover all this at its own briefing earlier in the day.

Expect to see Activision’s “Destiny 2: Forsaken” expansion and “Call of Duty: Black Ops 4” due September and October respectively, during the PlayStation conference.

And, speaking of October, rumor has it that PlayStation and Rockstar Games are partnering over aspects of what could be 2018’s biggest release of all, Wild West adventure “Red Dead Redemption 2”.

ADVERTISEMENT

Sony PlayStation
Time: June 11, 6 p.m. PDT
International: 9 p.m. EDT, then June 12 at 1 a.m. UTC, 2 a.m. United Kingdom, 3 a.m. Central Europe and South Africa, 6.30 a.m. India Standard Time, 9 a.m. Singapore, Malaysia, the Philippines and Beijing, China, 10 a.m. Japan and South Korea, and 11 a.m. in Sydney, Australia. Watch or follow live via live.playstation.com, playstation.com/e3, Twitch, YouTube and Facebook. JB

RELATED STORIES:

9-year-old girl skips toilet breaks while playing Fortnite; gets therapy for video game addiction

What to expect from Nintendo at E3 2018

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: "Call of Duty: Black Ops 4", E3, E3 2018, PlayStation, Spider-Man
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.
newsinfo

CebGo flights canceled due to bad weather

December 16, 2018 05:32 PM

lifestyle

Green thumb spruces up Bangladesh one tree at a time

December 16, 2018 05:31 PM

lifestyle

Interns with Down syndrome get trained in Davao hotel

December 16, 2018 05:23 PM




© Copyright 1997-2018 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.