Facebook might allow users to unsend messages
Ever sent a message you regretted? It looks like Messenger will soon let you undo that, according to a tech tipster.
Jane Manchun Wong, who is known for reverse engineering apps to discover upcoming features, announced on Oct. 13 that Facebook is making an “Unsend Message” button that may soon be rolled out to users.
She said the message can only be unsent within a set period of time, but did not specify for how long. In Google’s Gmail, an “Undo Send” button is available to users who can choose to delete an email within 30 seconds. At present, Facebook users can only delete messages on their end, but not in the other party’s inbox.
The feature comes after TechCrunch reported last April that Facebook managed to delete CEO Mark Zuckerberg’s messages along with that of other executives from other users’ inboxes. Following the exposé, Facebook told the online publication that it would eventually launch an “unsend” feature for all users. Six months later, Wong’s announcement has been the only source that the tech company has indeed been working on the feature.
The new feature was also confirmed by a Facebook spokesperson to TechCrunch, who said, “Facebook internally tests products and features before they ship to the public so we can ensure the quality of the experience.” JB
Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.