Twitter to start deleting inactive accounts on December 11
On Tuesday, Twitter began alerting users who have not logged into their account for over six months that it would be deleted.
Twitter users who are not active on the social media began receiving emails on Tuesday stating that, unless they log in by Dec. 11, their accounts would be deleted.
Specifically, users who have not signed in for over six months will permanently lose their Twitter account and username, as outlined in the platform’s inactive account policy.
According to the company, an account only has to sign in once in a while to be considered “active” — no tweeting, retweeting, or liking necessary.
Twitter has been sending out alerts about possible account deletion at the end of the year for over six months now.
Once an account is deleted, these usernames will be available for new accounts to take; Twitter has not stated how long it will take after removal for the names to become accessible. IB/JB
Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.