For first time since 2016, Google Translate adds support for 5 new languages

/ 09:23 PM February 27, 2020

Image: AFP/Chandan Khanna via AFP Relaxnews

Google has announced that Translate has added five new members to its language library: Kinyarwanda, Odia (Oriya), Tatar, Turkmen and Uyghur.

Until this week, 2016 marked the last time that Google added new languages to Translate; as of Wednesday, however, the platform gained support for Kinyarwanda, Odia (Oriya), Tatar, Turkmen and Uyghur, a series of languages that have over 75 million speakers worldwide.


Google explains that these languages have had a delayed arrival to the service because of their lack of online content, and “Translate learns from existing translations, which are most often found on the web.” The company stated instead that advancements in machine learning tech and help from the Google Translate Community brought these languages to life on the platform.

The tool supports both text and website translation for all five languages, and speakers of them have been invited to join the Google Translate Community to improve the translations.

Support for all the new languages began rolling out Wednesday. JB


Google gets in on the emoji mashup madness by launching ‘Emoji Kitchen’

LOOK: Marriage proposal shows up on Google Maps

TOPICS: Google, Google Translate, Google Translate Community, language, Translation
Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.