outbrain
Close  

WATCH: ‘Beyond Good and Evil 2’ releases early gameplay peek

/ 06:50 PM May 06, 2018

First revealed in June 2017 after years of speculation, action adventure game “Beyond Good & Evil 2” now has a short video to show how development is coming along.

A compacted glimpse of work-in-progress “Beyond Good & Evil 2” has been made available by publisher and developer Ubisoft.

ADVERTISEMENT

Character animation, combat, and various forms of flight are shown and explained by staff members from French studio Ubisoft Montpellier.

Players will be able to navigate using futuristic jet planes as well as personal jetpacks.

FEATURED STORIES

They will board enemy planes and fight on deck or clear them out room by room, said Jean-Marc Geffroy and Julien Chevalier, the team’s creative manager and content director, respectively.

Michel Ancel, the franchise’s creator and Senior Creative Director on “BG&E2”, also promised a link back to the original game for longtime fans, connecting the pirate faction of both titles.

There is also a multiplayer aspect to the proposed “BG&E2” experience, and Chevalier outlined an Armada function that appears to let players lock into a fixed formation when they are travelling from one place to another in a fleet of jets.

Design of the game is “pretty advanced,” said Geffroy. “We know where we are going. We are in this phase of prototyping a lot of things.”

While the two-minute video serves as a long-awaited preview of how “Beyond Good & Evil 2” will actually play, in contrast to the breathtaking cinematic that introduced it in 2017, its release ahead of E3 2018 gives the impression that the project is still fairly early in development and therefore acts to keep fan expectations more in line with studio capabilities.

Prequel to the iconic 2003 adventure about a camera-toting investigator on an alien planet, “Beyond Good & Evil 2” was officially revealed as part of Ubisoft’s E3 2017 stage presentation through a cinematic CGI trailer.

Ubisoft is to hold its E3 2018 public press conference on June 11 from 1 p.m. PDT, local time in Los Angeles; 4 p.m. EDT, 8 p.m. UTC, 9 p.m. United Kingdom; 10 p.m. Central Europe and South Africa; and then 1.30 a.m. India, 4 a.m. Singapore, Philippines, Malaysia and Beijing, China, 5 a.m. South Korea; and 6 a.m. Sydney, Australia. JB

ADVERTISEMENT

RELATED STORIES:

Top iPhone apps: ‘Harry Potter’ still leads despite microtransaction troubles

‘Witcher 3’ studio to show new game at E3 2018

TOPICS: Beyond Good and Evil, E3, futuristic, Gaming, Ubisoft
Read Next
EDITORS' PICK
MOST READ
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.


© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.